Month: April 2011

  • Video: That Was A Good Song.

    Zoe’s Daily Funny:
    Last week our friend Hans came over for lunch. Zoe was eating across from him at the dining room table and she goes…

    Zoe: Do you have kids?
    Hans: No.
    Zoe: Oh. Why?
    Me: Zoe, Hans samchun needs a wife first if he’s gonna have kids.
    Zoe: Do you have a wife?
    Hans: No.

    Zoe thinks about this for a second and says…
    Zoe: Is it because no one understands you?

  • Video: Kid at The Apple Store

    TGIF!
    (sent from my sister)

  • Tree House Envy

    Any time I see a movie with a tree house I get jealous. The Sandlot, Jack, Orphan, Nim’s Island, Swiss Family Robinson. I even got jealous of the tree house in Tarzan. That’s right, the Disney cartoon version. My tree house envy is bad people. You have no idea. I just don’t talk about it but it’s always there. I’ll just stand there and think of something like “man, when was the last time I changed Kayden’s diaper? I wonder if I planted a tree in the backyard now how long it would take to be fully grown for my tree house? Probably after I die? God! What is that funky smell? Kayden pooped! I’ve been waiting for that all day. If I used baby feces as fertilizer I wonder how much quicker the tree would grow. I wonder if it’s more of a miracle than Miracle Grow.” I think I’m toning it down a lot but if you guys only knew the amount of research I did while ignoring my children and squandering over the internet you would think I was psychotic. Zoe could’ve been like “mommy I’m playing with matches and I just lit the drapes on fire.” “I wouldn’ve been like “that’s nice honey. Don’t forget the blinds too.” I’m just documenting this now so that you don’t keep reading my page and two years down the line while reading one of my posts you’ll think “I think this woman is crazy”. Um hello? It’s been documented that I was on April , 2011 at approximately ! Stupid. If I actually wrote down all the research I did I think it would have to take about 3-4 entries

    If you know me you will know that I am obsessed with playhouses and treehouses and anything that ends with “houses”…. not including outhouses. My husband knows this too. I was all about “If we buy a house it has to have a backyard so I can make a tree house.” After we bought our house with the treeless yard it was “after we move out of this house and into a new house with a tree in the backyard 10 years later I’m going to make a tree house.” This is on my life list of Things I Want To Do Before I Die. Anytime I see a movie with a treehouse

    So anyways, back to treehouses and playhouse. I know I
    wrote a post before on a few playhouses that I thought were really cute (which is really a back up to my tree house plan).

    Ohdeedoh had
    this posted not too long ago. A treehouse bed. Hello?! LOVE! It just made me think of my tree house dream. Kayden and Zoe, I solemnly swear that I will make you a tree house/play house before you’re too big to play in it.

    I would paint this yellow or green. Maybe even light blue.
    treehouse bed

  • Update

    Zoe’s Daily Funnies (2 today):
    I know I posted before on how she wanted to trade Kayden for Keira (only because she still wants a little sister) and her father kept rubbing her disloyalty in her face. This week out of the blue I said to Kayden “Kayden did you know that noona wanted to TRADE YOU for another baby!?

    Zoe starts running over to us and starts going “SHHHHHHHHHHH SHHHHHHHHHH SHHHHHHHHHHH Mommy! Mommy! Don’t tell Kayden!SHHHHH! Don’t tell Kayden!!!”

    Girl knows she betrayed her little brother and is just a wee bit ashamed. Just a wee bit.



    One day last week I just brought the kids back home from school and I was taking off my shoes and jacket when I saw Zoe crouch over Kayden in his car seat and I heard her say…

    Zoe: Aww Kayden. You’re sooooo cute. Why are you cute? Huh?
    Me: Zoe you’re his big sister right?
    Zoe: Yeah I’m his noona.
    Me: That’s right and you love your little brother right?
    Zoe: Yeah!
    Me: So if anyone ever bothers Kayden or hits him you beat them up.
    Zoe: (telling Kayden) If anyone hits you I’m gonna SLAP THEM ACROSS THE FACE LIKE THIS! (proceeds to do invisible slaps in the air) and then I’m gonna TELL THE POLICE and they’re gonna PUT THEM IN JAIL and GIVE THEM A BIG TIME OUT and then I’m gonna go there and SLAP THEM ACROSS THE FACE AGAIN LIKE THIS (another invisible slap demonstration)!

    How she got so violent I don’t know. Ok for the record her invisible slaps were really whimpy. However I do fear for the first kid that lays their hands on Kayden. 


    So I haven’t been blogging lately. My mother in law is in Korea and we just moved Zoe over to her new room. I only have the weekends to paint so we started painting 2 Sundays ago and I just did the 2nd coat of paint this past Saturday and just finished up on the 2nd coat of paint for her closet this past Sunday and moved everything in except her bed. I just want to air it out a bit before moving her in there to sleep. It’s pinkalicious. On Sunday she was hanging out in the living room in her Cinderella dress and I said to her (after I just got done painting her closet) “Zoe, do you want to go see your room? She excitedly said “YES!” So we go up and she runs into the room, does a few twirls, clasps her hands together and exclaimed “It’s all that I’ve ever dreamed!”  Ok. I think we need to cut back on watching Disney princess movies.

    So Kayden has been sick for like 3 weeks. He had a cold, got over the cold, and then like 2 days laterhe got something else. He kept coughing this wheezy sounding cough, and had a runnyn nose, and diahrhea. I took him to the dr’s last Monday and he said Kayden had
    bronchiolitis. The doctor says that we just have to wait it out and that it could last a couple of weeks. Oy vey.He’s still coughing. Last night he coughed so much that he threw up all over our bedroom floor. I was trying to put Zoe down and we were reading Monster’s Inc when I heard “HUN!!!!” coming from my bedroom. I run in and I see the hubs holding out his arms holding Kayden and I see the aftermath of a milk vomit explosion. Kayden had it all over his clothes, there was white streams coming out of his nose and white dribble all over his chin, it was all over his clothes, all over the hubs arm and shirt, all over our floor. *sigh*
    It’s always something with these kids, ya know? This is his 2nd time throwing up since he was diagnosed with bronchiolitis. Sometimes he’ll be sleeping soundly and he’ll start coughing and wake up. I don’t think he’s been sleeping well. Plus on top of that, throw in his teething issues and he just a hot chubby mess.

    {04.10.11} New Mulan Costume
                                            IMG_1968-1  

    {04.12.11} Skype Date w/ Lila

                                            IMG_1969-1  
      
    {04.17.11} Helping Mommy paint the new room. (she actually started to form a blister on each hand)
     IMG_1993-1        IMG_1997-1 

  • Happy 5 Years Babe!

    Zoe’s Daily Funny:
    This past saturday Zoe and I went to Home Depot in the am to pick up paint for her closet. After we paid for our items we had to get our receipt checked by this tall, old guy by the exit door. He saw us coming and automatically reached into his Home Depot apron and took out a piece of receipt paper that already had a happy face drawn on it. As he gave it to Zoe he said “A happy face for a happy face” and he smiled down at her. She examined her happy face and said “Oooh a happy face!” Then she looked up at this tall man, smiled up at him, and said “MY MOMMY SAID THAT WHEN YOU POOPY IN THE POTTY YOU HAVE TO WIPE YOUR BUTT!” He goes “Ohhhh! I did not know that! I have to start doing that!”

    Hahahaha….

    { 04.15.11 }
    IMG_1972-1
    The hubs and I dropped the kids off 2 fridays ago and took a day off from work to celebrate our 5 year anniversary. For this special day the hubs booked lunch at Momofuku Ko. Never heard of it but ok. He kept saying before hand how it was probably going to be hard to book lunch there. I’m thinking “It’s JUST lunch! What’s the big deal?” A few days pass and he sends me an email and he’s like “you know lunch is like 17 courses.” What? Ok fine. I can eat 17 just as long as there’s a bathroom nearby. Then he drops the motherload a few days later via email, “By the way, you’re not allowed to take pictures in the restaurant. Photography’s banned.” WTF KIND OF A RESTAURANT DOES THIS TO A HUMAN BEING! WHERE THE HELL IS MY HUSBAND TAKING ME TO EAT!!!??? So began my endless research on this Kim Jong-Ilish owned restaurant…

    There’s been a lot of hype around this restaurant and David Chang, the chef himself. First of all you know it’s good cause it’s got 2 Michelin stars to back it up. And our 17 course lunch was memorable even though some dishes were forgettable. I just think the restaurant itself, or maybe perhaps even the chef, comes off a bit cocky. First, you can ONLY book online. Second, there’s ONLY 12 seats so you bet your bottom dollar that if you want reservations there your ass better be glued to your computer till you get your foodie lovin reservation. Third, if you have a party of 3 you can forget about it. They only take even # reservations. Fourth, you CANNOT take photos there. Cameras are banned and if you are caught taking photos with your phone they will most likely hold on to your shit till you leave the restaurant or they may even kick you out. Like I’m just thinking (and pardon my French ahead of time) “Who the fuck are you?” Like seriously. David Chang was asked about the photo ban and he was quoted saying “It’s just food. Just eat it.” Um well hello? If it’s just food why go all out for the pretty presentation? HUH? HUH? HUH?!!!! If it’s just food why is your staff so meticulously slicing the spring chicken (which was effin good btw) as if they were performing a circumcision on a newborn baby? I mean I brought my camera. I was too scared to use it. I even had my phone out just to take notes but I could feel the eyes of the staff peering down on me to try and see if I would dare take an “illegal” photo. HA HA You ASSHOLES! I was just writing down my notes on what I ate you fools! So in yo face! I mean if you’re gonna dish out $175 on prix fixed meal for a 3 hour meal extravaganza don’t you think you should have that right to take photos (minus the flash of course)? I am by no means a foodie. I just like what tastes good but the food here was definitely an experience. I present to you my notes:

    1} oyster shot (only ONE people)
    2} some beet dish (that’s as in ONE beet slice)
    3} cucumber salad
    4} potato soufflé
    5} 5pc sashimi dish
    6} mushroom soup w/ a side dish of a variety of mushrooms and candied cashews
    7} puffed egg
    8} bento box w/ duck meatballs
    9} ricotta dumpling soup
    10} grilled trout on potato salad
    11} charcuterie dish ( I remember hearing the word lamb lard and duck pate)
    12} spring chicken
    13} gelee w/ goat cheese & marscapone
    14} shaved frois grois with lychee, riesling gelee and peanut brittle
    15} english pea ice cream
    16} white miso ice cream in a cone
    17} kimchi onigiri (to go)

    As you can see New York Magazine would not be contacting me to write up a restaurant review for their next issue. I thought everything was good except for the puffed egg dish. I loved the chicken, the trout, and the mushroom dish (exactly in that order). The English pea ice cream was definitely interesting. I didn’t love it but I couldn’t stop eating it and I will definitely not forget it. I’m such a sad photo-taking-whore of a person. I found this guy on Yelp who SECRETLY took photos when he went to his dining experience back in February and I emailed him and basically asked “What was your strategy?”He was one of the lucky ones that got away scott-free. LUCKY BASTARD! If only Kayden didn’t take my ballzinis. I think around the 5th course I asked our nice, goatee-faced chef from Atlanta that was tattooed up for shizzle, “How strict are you guys on the whole photo ban policy?” He shot back “Real strict. We’ll confiscate your camera and break it. Remember we’re bigger than him (pointing at my husband).” LISTEN BUDDY! I DON’T HANDLE THREATS LIGHLTY!!! I gave him a meek “Ok.” Almost mouse-like I’d say. A cowering mouse really. At around the 13th course which was like 2 hours later I asked…

    “You can’t even take a photo on your way out?
    “Nope.
    “What about in the bathroom?
    “Nope.
    “But how would you know if I DID take a photo in the bathroom!?” (I was smiling at him like HA-HA I FOUND A LOOPHOLE YOU BIG HAIRY APE! But now when I think about it, it’s JUST a bathroom)
    “We would hope that you wouldn’t.”

    He was so nice that I couldn’t bring myself to take a photo in the bathroom behind his back. It’s just dishonest. So after mumbling my broken Korean, that only my mother and my husband can decipher, I sent the hubs.

    TAKE THAT MOMOFUKU BASTARDS! We got a photo of your bathroom bookshelf!
    I shoooo shad.
    IMG_20110415_151239

  • The Sweetness of Zoe

    I know I haven’t posted in over a week but I wanted to post this one sweet Zoe’s Daily Funny before I forgot…

    Zoe’s Daily Funny:
    Yesterday I went to pick up Zoe and Kayden at their school. Zoe and I were at one of the tables in the main area and we were getting her bag and jacket together. Nearby her friend Crystal was playing with this little toy car (It’s a little bit smaller than a hotrod). So she throws it and it lands on the table in front of us. I said “Crystal you have to be careful. You could hit someone.” She chose to ignore me and she threw it again and it hit me on my sunglasses which was propped on my head. “CRYSTAL!” So the Director of the school saw this happen and she comes over and kneels down and told Crystal to apologize and she wouldn’t and you could tell she was also getting embarrassed. So she called over her mother (who is also Zoe’s teacher) and told her what happened and even she told Crystal to apologize to me. At this point I’m kneeling down and Zoe’s like patting my face and she turns around and goes “Crystal! Say sorry to my mommy! You hit her and that’s not nice!” Crystal still refused. So Zoe turns to me while twirling my hair in her hand and goes…

    “Mommy I’ll say sorry to you since Crystal isn’t saying sorry.”

    And then she hugged me.

  • Skype Buddies

    Zoe’s Daily Funny:
    Zoe was playing Rapunzel on sunday with her dad. That’s where she and only she is Rapunzel and you are whatever she tells you you are.

    Hubs: Why are you always Rapunzel? What if ahpah wants to be Rapunzel.
    Zoe: (thinking it over) No. You’re Flynn and I’m Rapunzel.
    Hubs: No. I’m Rapunzel!
    Zoe: (totally ignoring him) Flynn, Flynn you have to climb up to the tower.
    Hubs: What’s mommy?

    I WAS cleaning during this time but paused to hear my character assignment.

    Zoe: Mommy? Mommy’s nobody and I’m Rapunzel and you’re Flynn.

    YOUR WORDS ARE NOT LAW MISS BOSSY PANTS! AND I AM TOO SOMEBODY. I AM QUEEN OF I’MGONNAKICKYOURASSANDSHOWYOUWHOSBOSS.
    I’m gonna be Rapunzel next time.


    I’ve heard so many mothers say that things are easier with the 2nd kid. Um not. With Zoe I would take her anywhere and everywhere. With Kayden I’m like “What you want to meet up for lunch? Call me next year.” I’m like scared to take him out. With Zoe my mentality was like “If she cries, she cries. I can deal with it.” With Kayden it’s more like “Omigod he’s crying. Let’s go home.” I don’t know what it is. I think it’s the fear of losing my sanity while dealing with 2 in an open public place. I am telling you this kid took my ballzinis!

    I also think Kayden’s teething. He’s about 5 months and a week old. His drooling is nonstop. He started sucking on his fingers. He would only get a few fingers in at a time and then get pissy at times when he can’t shove his entire fist in. Greedy! He’s also not sleeping well at night and just everything is irregular. His sleep, his feedings. He’s a punk. Haha but we love him. The hubs keeps bringing up the fact that Zoe a few weeks back showed her disloyalty to her brother when she said “I wanna trade Kayden for Keira (who is Lila’s sister).” Oh the shame. She claims that she doesn’t want to anymore and that she wants to keep him. We’ll see. You’ll have to prove it to us once more Benedict.

    Oh and also heads up before I forget, Disney is closing the vault on Pinnochio, Fantasia, and Snow White on 04/30/11 so make sure to purchase them before then if you’re interested.

    {03.30.11} Skyping
    Zoe loves to Skype. She’s always skyped with Hannah eemoh and Uncle Matthew out in Vietnam and she’d want to stay on with them forever. I’d put the laptop on the dining room chair so that she could walk around and show them what she’s doing. They’ll play hide and go seek with her and she’ll start cracking up like a hyena. She’ll make them cups of coffee and feed it to the monitor and I can hear slurping noises coming from the other side of the monitor. Or she’ll dance for them as they lay in bed getting ready to go to sleep. But move over H&M! She has a new Skype buddy named Lila. I think we turned Lila into a Skype addict. Today they have a Skype chat date at 6pm. Talk to you ladies then!
    IMG_1895-2

  • Built In Indoor Slides

    Ohdeedoh just recently did a post on built in indoor slides. Omigod. I’m jealous. I’d use it every day.

    E.V.E.R.Y.
    D.A.Y.

    I’m serious. I think I’d also use it as a laundry chute and situations like “Yo hun! Fatty coming down. Catch him.” And then I’d push Kayden down. Hahaha I so seriously would. 
    house slide
     house slide1
     house slide 2
     house slide 3

  • Our Weekend w/ Nancy Eemoh

    Zoe’s Daily Funny:
    Yesterday we went to the gas station to get some gas. Before I left Zoe told me that she wanted to tell the gas attendant (I don’t know what to call them) hi. So I rolled down the window and she started yelling out “HI! HI! HI! Hey Hi! Hi!” He smiled and started waving back at her. As we drove away…

    Zoe: Mommy he smiled at me because I’m cute?
    Me: I think so.
    Zoe: I’m not cute. Mommy, I’m not cute.
    Me: Ok. Then are you ugly?
    Zoe: (thinking about this for a second) No. I’m cute.

    No really. Don’t hold back.


     
    Oh boo. I left work a few hours early yesterday because Kayden had a fever and I had to pick him up. Poor thing. Good thing is that he was in good spirits. This morning we were going to send him to school since he didn’t have a temperature but then he chucked up his milk and his fever came back. Hang in there lil champ.

    {04.03.01} The hubs was away so Nancy eemoh came over to play.
    IMG_1913-1         IMG_1934-1
    IMG_1922-1
                                            IMG_1925-2
    IMG_1936 copy-1
    IMG_1942-2
                                      IMG_1939-1
    IMG_1943-1

  • Recipe: Zuppa Toscana (Olive Garden)

    My FAVORITE soup in the WHOLE WIDE WORLD is Olive Garden’s Zuppa Toscana. My sister found a recipe online and sent it to me. I finally made it this past weekend and devoured it.

    Note: I threw in an extra potato and instead of bouillon cubes I had bouillon packets so I used 3 of those. It was SO FRIGGIN GOOD! Here is the
    site I got it from.

    {Makes: 6-8 servings}

    INGREDIENTS
    1 lb ground Italian sausage
    1½ tsp crushed red peppers
    1 large diced white onion
    4 Tbsp bacon pieces
    2 tsp garlic puree
    10 cups water
    5 cubes of chicken bouillon
    1 cup heavy cream
    1 lb sliced Russet potatoes, or about 3 large potatoes
    ¼ of a bunch of kale
    IMG_1902

    DIRECTIONS
    Sauté Italian sausage and crushed red pepper in a large pot. Drain excess fat, refrigerate while you prepare other ingredients.
    In the same pan, sauté bacon, onions and garlic over low-medium heat for approximately 15 mins. or until the onions are soft.
    Add chicken bouillon and water to the pot and heat until it starts to boil.
    Add the sliced potatoes and cook until soft, about half an hour.
    Add the heavy cream and just cook until thoroughly heated.
    Stir in the sausage and the kale, let all heat through and serve.
    IMG_1904