March 20, 2009

  • Zoe’s First Birthday Party

    NOTE: I forgot to post my photog info! DUH! Her name is Maggie and her email is maggie.choi@gmail.com.  If you want to see more of her work you can find it here.

    IMG_0126 Hi Zoe:
    It’s mommy. Your first birthday has finally come. MOMMY’S SO SAD (Daddy’s probably rolling his eyes and shaking his head at this comment)!!!! It brings tears to my eyes to write this to you because you are my heart and when I look at who you’re becoming my heart feels so overwhelmed so remind me to give you a meh-meh after your nap for making me cry…

    What a huge milestone. I was actually not looking foward to this because then I would have to face reality and see that you are growing up and there’s nothing that I can do to slow it down. I mean I could put breaks on you but you’d probably take them off and eat it.

    IMG_1402 I thank God for you all the time. That’s why I drag you to church because I’m so grateful to him for giving me you. I picture a nursery ward in heaven with soft billowy clouds and rows of the lil plastic bins that babies sleep in in hospitals. I picture God walking down the aisle deep in thought trying to hand pick which baby would be mine. He comes upon your bin, you’re crying but you stop and give him your sideways dirty death look and say “Ish don’t think so.” and he says “Sassy aren’t you? TAG! YOU’RE IT!” and then out you came through the birth canal! You may think that I am joking but I seriously picture it to happen just like this and just so you can get a better idea on the details, God’s also wearing those sandals you see Jesus wearing all the time in Bible illustrations. Just thought I’d throw that in.

    I cherish each and every day that I’ve known you. Even last night when you decided to wake up at 1am and was this whiney little pain in my ass for TWO LONG HOURS. Even then I loved you even though I wanted to beat you. Even though you counter my “No’s!” with your “No’s!” I still love you. Even when it’s nap time and I say “Zoe, night-night” and you’re playing with your toys and look over your shoulder to give me you death look which CLEARLY has NO EFFECT on me WHATSOEVER LIL GIRL cause you’re STILL taking your friggin nap…I still love you. Why? I don’t know. It really is unconditional.

    I’m sorry you were sick at your birthday party. Mommy went all out to make it special for you and you couldn’t even enjoy it since you were feeling so miserable. Daddy even stood in front of the crowd and made a welcome announcement. I KNOW! In public! In front of LOTS of people and without stuttering! Impressive right? And with you being sick…that was the hardest thing we’ve been through as your parents. Just to see you like that…it broke us……………. And why in the heck are you up 30 minutes early from your nap time right now!!! I can hear you from your room so you better go back to sleep you punk ass! I will just continue to write and ignore you.

    Today is your real birthday and for your special day mommy will give you a bath. No need to thank me. You need it. And even though mommy is really good at crafts…you are the most beautiful thing I’ve ever made. More than your dol go-ims.

    OK FINE I HEAR YOU! I’m coming! Geeze!

    Love you to infinity + beyond,
    Your mommy


    :: Zoe’s Hanbok ::
    IMG_9943-1           IMG_9945
    IMG_9946-1           IMG_9947
    IMG_9952     IMG_9953
    IMG_9957            IMG_9958
    IMG_9973

    :: The Party ::
    IMG_9914  
    IMG_0013            IMG_9872
    IMG_0001 
    IMG_9895
    IMG_1336
    IMG_9932
    IMG_0022
    IMG_0031-1
    IMG_9870-1            IMG_9866-1
    IMG_1331 
    IMG_9906
    IMG_9907
    IMG_9908

    IMG_9884
    IMG_9877-1            IMG_9885
    IMG_9892            IMG_9893
    IMG_0168-1            IMG_1372
    IMG_0029-1    IMG_0038
    IMG_0116
    IMG_1345
    IMG_0035-1           IMG_0040
    IMG_0059
    IMG_9984       IMG_9978  
    IMG_0007         IMG_9995

    :: The Kids ::
    Who could forget the lil rambunctious, loud guests of the evening? Most of them spent their time in the hallway running around screaming like a bunch of cave munchkins. Rumor has it that there was a lot of mackin going on in the kiddie department that night. Ellis mackin it to Chloe? Richie mackin it to Josie? Christian and Ethan mackin it to each other?
    IMG_0010-1
    IMG_0049            IMG_0044
    IMG_0015            IMG_9930
    IMG_9920            IMG_0081 IMG_0090
    IMG_0107             IMG_0184
    IMG_0115  
    IMG_0187
    IMG_0105 
    IMG_0112          IMG_0096
    IMG_0094

    :: Sweet Endings ::
    IMG_1326            IMG_0024-1
    IMG_0151
    IMG_0153 IMG_0156
    IMG_1327
    IMG_0185       IMG_0177       IMG_0175       IMG_0174 
    IMG_0180

Comments (82)

  • wow, s, everything turned out so beautifully!!!!!  you have a lot of adorable zoe pics, but the last one in this batch is my ABSOLUTE favorite.

    reading your ode to zoe made me tear up, btw.  and i’m at work woman!!

  • hahah! you’re too funny! :)   looks like the party was a success!! I feel as though every baby is tired and cranky at their dol.  The crying pics will get cuter and cuter as the years pass, and you can give her a hard time about it when she’s older. :)

  • awwwww. so cute and mushy! pat yourself on the back!

  • Enjoyed seeing Zoe’s birthday photos… but enjoyed your entry more.. haha.  You’re hilarious.  Great job on all the detail and thought you put in! looked great.

  • wow. Your crafty skills puts everyone else to shame.  Glad to see everything turned out well! :D

  • awww you didn’t wear a hanbok!

    Lots of props to you, everything looks so nice!!

  • so perfect. zoe is going to enjoy reading and looking at all these photos so much when she gets older… happy birthday zoe!!! your mommy rocks!!!!

  • Happy Birthday Zoe! By the time I finished reading this post I couldn’t help but sing “It’s my party and I’ll cry if want to”. Hehehe.

  • this post made me tear and laugh at the same time.  everything came out so great! 

    happy first birthday zoe!!!

  • Happy birthday Zoe!! Wow, you guys did an awesome job~~ Your creativity is amazing!

  • Happy Birthday, Ms. Pretty Zoey….I’m sad as well, to see how big and grown she’s gotten…I look at Gracie and think, WOW, thats when I first came across Zoey’s blog at Gracie’s age….Pinch me, its not real that she’s one already?…Girl, sniff, sniff……as funny as your are…YOUR DAMN SENTIMENTAL AS WELL……….(pass the tissue), your heartfelt and candid post was making me weepy…..I’m proud of Zoey but most of, proud of you and your hubs………YOU DID AN AWESOME JOB RAISING HER TO BE A BEAUTIFUL YOUNG GIRL…….
    Thank you so much sharing your life as well as Zoey….She is so special to us and I’m sad she’s growing but also excited what new and quirky milestones, this little star is going to have………..Hugs, Susan……….your an awesome mommy!

  • btw, the last pic and a pic further up…she’s looking more and more like you………….especially, her cute facial expressions………………

  • Gorgeous pics! Did you take them yourself or did you hire someone…and please don’t tell me you baked the cupcakes and cookies yourself…You are truly the Korean Martha Stewart! I love love love all the decorations!!!

  • susan, you are amazing…what a good mommy you are!!

  • awww….what a beautiful letter!! Great pics too! did you guys hire a photographer? Happy Birthday Zoe!

  • Your love letter to baby was so cute. Some of it made me laugh as I pictured her little no’s haha. So adorable.  Everything looks so fantastic!  

  • Reading this entry makes me appreciate my mom. :) Seriously… Susan, Zoe is blessed to have you as her mommy! :)
    The party was truly a success, huh? :) Yes, let’s def. discuss how you can plan Des’ dohl in Dec. What’s your email address? Message me via FB or Xanga with your addy please~ :)

  • @hkcho @PuddinPie - - we hired a friend of mine from church to take the photos. also my sister baked the cookies and she and aegie made the cupcakes while i was finishing up on setting up the place.

  • prettiness everywhere! happy birthday zoe!

  • wow~ you did a wonderful job! everything looks so nice!

  • looks beautiful! the room looks great with all your hard-work! so sad to hear that she wasn’t feeling well… :( btw, i love how she’s holding onto the spatula… could anyone see her behind those dol go-ims? :P

  • awww. the party looked like it was a success! all that hard work you’ve put into it and look how beautiful it looks. Zoe is too damn cute. don’t worry, A was freakin out during her dol party too! haha

  • Everything looks amazing!! HAppy Birthday Zoe!! You are so lucky to have a talented mommy.

  • oHHHHH!!!! Everything looked AMAZING~~ the party AND the parents~~~ AND of course beautiful Zoemonster! Loved her dress~~~~ u must be POOPED!!!!!! TIme to rest umma!!!

  • zoe is going to laugh so hard and also cry so hard reading your letter. awwww! everything looks super susan! and i totally think zoe looks like you! happy happy birthday dear zoe!

  • one word – WOW! 

    ps – you suck b/c your note to zoe made me get the sniffles!  it reminded me that lucas will be turning 1 in 2 months & i’m not looking to fwd to it either! 

  • seriously Zoe is a xanga star! I love the look she giving to her halmohni.. its priceless

  • Oh so pretty! Congratulations and your beautiful baby’s birthday.Thankyoufor sharing that sweet (& funny) letter. BTW, the centerpieces look great!

  • Great pictures! Thanks for posting them. It looks like it was a beautiful + fun birthday party. I loved her Zoe’s dress, too!!! So freakin’ pretty. The cupcakes, too! OMG!!! Everything. I hope Zoe is feeling better… poor thing =(

  • Happy birthday Zoe!!  The party looked amazing!  I love all the pictures you blew up of her.

  • Everything is so cute!  Zoe is going to just love everything you did for her!

  • i love the last picture!  precious!  you’re such great mommy!

  • As Zoe’s Viet-cong aunt, I have several things to say

    1.  Love the tea cozy on her head
    2. I, too, picture God in leather sandals, but criss cross in the front with straps in the back for formal occassions, flip flops for casual.
    3. I love the decorations Susan.  You went all out!  It’s beautiful!
    4. I love the picture of Zoe and the front table.  Honestly, it took me a while to locate her in the photo.
    5. Zoe’s dress is beautiful!
    6. I really miss that fake smile Owen gives.  Oh my god, he’s so big!
    7. Zoe needs to build relations with her grandmas. 
    8. I know it’s only a photo but Christian looks like he’s strutting in that photo.
    9. Ellis is so charismatic.  Josie, my little bird pink ghost princess!
    10. Happy birthday Zoe!

  • WOW!! Looks like a great party!!! U r such a wonderful mother and great event planner…hehehe

  • everything looked perfect!!!  Great job!!!  The food looks soo good, I’m drooling!! 

  • wow everything looks amazing~!  i think one of the hardest things to do is taking an empty room and decorating it to make it your own…great job!!  looks like zoe’s party was a great time for all =)  how is zoe feeling now? c also has a nasty cold right now which i think he’s passed on to everyone else…o good times good times…

  • Wow, the event looked fantastic! I can see why the guests were so enthusiastic about you starting a business. You’re good at this.

    Zoe’s candid expressions are so funny. Her face is very emotive. She’s a lucky gal to have such a loving mom.

  • what a sweet post-  happy bday zoe!

  • man you did an awesome job.. girl you got mad skills.. put it to work…. Ariana was miss cranky pants at her dol too… Zoe is so cute in her hanbok

  • happy happy happy birthday zoe!!!

    susan, you did such an amazing job. totally OOC!!! i love it. and your letter was so sweet and sassy. oh and btw, i loved your description of God walking through heaven’s nursery ward.

  • all i have to say is WOW!  I’m so hiring you for Nate’s other birthdays! lol

  • Happy Bussday Zoe! Your letter to Zoe was sho shweet! I’m am soooo looking forward to becoming a mommy and getting on the emotional rollercoaster!

  • Happy birthday Zoe!!!  Mommy, you rock!

  • zoe is soooooo pretty! and what a beautiful party.  i’m sorry she wasn’t feeling well enough to enjoy it fully.  but that’s ok cuz you’re going to rock out zoe’s birthday like this every year, right?  i dare you.

    “And even though mommy is really good at crafts…you are the most beautiful thing I’ve ever made. More than your dol go-ims.” — so sweet.  and wow, you have a vivid imagination…she gave GOD attitude?  nice.

  • @tubecozy - Puhleeze. God was scared of her.

  • WOW! the decorations look so awesome. i have to give you madd props for the dol-go-ims. man can’t believe you handmade all of them.  Great Job Supermom! 

    Zoe looks like a little lady in her pretty flower dress~

  • girl, you are so hilarious (the letter) and talented (uh, in everything)!  i was skimming through this post in bed last night and my hubbs looked over and asked what i was reading.  i told him zoe is the cutest xanga baby with the most creative xanga mom.  hubby said “dang!  she IS cute!!” (um, he was talkin about zoe).  he melted looking at that last pic (he really, really wants a daughter).  how do you and your hubby stand it? zoe is so darn cute! i think i would let her walk all over me. 

    happy birthday zoe!

  • wow geej–i mean susan! ;) fantastic!!!! just as i suspected… spectacular job. i love that photo of zoe ‘hating you guys’! priceless. :) she looked like a princess on her big day. she is so lucky to have a mama like you and will look back on these pics and feel so special that you worked your ass off handmaking everything!!!

  • @neglected_middle_child - can i just say josie and owen bring the worst out in each other!

  • @kookaroo - whatevers i know hanson’s ahbah was talkin about me. AHNYOUNG NAMPYUN! hahahaha j/k are you done after this one? i don’t know….i think hanson is  pretty stinkin cute. maybe we can set up their arranged marriages now?

  • GORGEOUS!

    Adorable.  Everything was just adorable and amazing.  Great job!

    Happy 1st birthday Zoe!  Your oh-ma and ah-pa (my spelling is SO bad) love you very much!

  • everything looked fabulous of course. glad she…and all of you…made it through the day. zoe is so precious!

    oh, and you have to update your lilypie so that we can countdown to when zoe turns 2. cherish the moments, woman…even if when she’s being a punk, it goes by way too fast.

  • wow – i really thought that you took the photos… your photos are usually just as good!

  • the party looked amazing!!!!!!!!!! my goodness you outdid yourself! everything looked so great put together, the cupcakes, wow, you made those toO?!?!?!?! geebus! Everything looks so friggin perfect.

    I wish my browser was bigger, I have it on full screen but the horizontal pictures are cut off. :( boo!

    happy birthday zoe, your mommy sure loves you!

  • How sweet! Her party looked wonderful, way to go on everything!

  • OMG i recognize your hubby from looking at these pics!!   My hubby (tae) knows your hubby through Danny from college!! I love all the pics and the birthday girl looked fabulous on her big day!!

  • wow, everything looks amazing! i love how the colors all came together and matched zoe’s beautiful dress. your letter was very touching and funny at the same time. zoe is very lucky to have a wonderful mommy like you. happy birthday zoe!!! :)

  • awww…I wish I was there!  :(   great photos!  props to mags!

  • Great party! Happy First Birthday to Zoe! Can’t wait to meet you guys!

  • What a fantastic turnout! What a cute letter.  I was going to ask you, did you make the candle molds for ZOE’s name or do they sell those?

  • OMG!  Everything looked amazing!  Zoe is lucky to have you as her mom. :)   I got really choked up reading your letter to Zoe.  I hope I’m half as good as you when I become a mommy.

  • happy birthday little zoe!  your mommy did an amazing job with your dol and you looked so pretty in your little dress. :)

  • @a_nut07 - do you know him too?!

  • @YoOnxKyUnG - looks can be deceiving. hahaha

  • @PetiteMandoo - I do! Small world!! Are you coming out tonight?

  • @a_nut07 - yeah i am! i can’t wait! he thinks we’re all dorks and that this is all the nerds congregating to be cool. he’s just jealous! jerk face. he’s my sitter so i have to be nice…oh yeah and he’s the baby’s daddy….oh yeah and he’s my husband so i have to be nice. hahahah

  • aww thanks for sharing those wonderful pictures!

    it looked like a great event!

  • happy real birthday zoe!!

    girl – everything turned out beautifully! i’m sorry to hear the she wasn’t feeling well, but she’ll have these beautiful pics to look back on too.

  • @Jcarnation - you know funny you should ask…there was a point where i was considering making my own but then i found these at party city. THANK GOD!

  • happy birthday zoe!  i love the black and white pictures you put around the room.

  • LOVE IT!!  Zoe is the Xanga Mascot of little girls!!!  My co-workers and I always go through your photos, we all think she’s sooo cute… :)   Congratulations on the finishing of the Dol party…  We were very impressed with all the decorations and the little dress Z was in, even though she must have been super uncomfortable and finally was happy with you got her out of it…  :)   BEAUTIFUL.

    Happy Birthday Lil’ girl, be good for your mommy okay?

  • what a great celebration for zoe.  you did a wonderful job and you’re such a great mommy to zoe.  i’m so worried i will be inadequate as a Mom…  beautiful photos of the day. thanks so much for sharing. 

  • @one_happy_bride - ur not going to be inadequate. you’re gonna do great. i used to think those things about me.

  • @korean_angel214 - awwwwwwwww thanks jen!

  • @PetiteMandoo - 
    P.S. we’re all jealous that you are so crafty…  I told them how you made the little center pieces, the banner, the hats, et al….  I’m jealous you have the patience to HOT glue all those little beans for the dol go ims…  But we all felt for Z.  Poor lil girl!  We loved the photo where she’s saying “I hate the both of you”… 

  • OMG, her face in the halmoni photos are AWESOME!!!  Looks like it was a super party – great job, mom!!

    Happy dol, Zoe!!

  • everything looked amazing!! i guess all that hard work paid off huh? Happy birthday to zoe!!

  • This is Will –  No love for Morgan??? j/k… great party!

  • best.dohl.ever.  you are amazing!!  everything turned out perfectly.  happy belated birthday to zoe!  so sorry cutie pie was sick at her party.  she’s just so adorable and i’m sure she had a wonderful time.  i love your letter to her…i can just imagine her saying no to your no like in one of those videos you posted before.  so cute! 

  • happy 1st bday zoe! ~her dohl looked wonderful. all of your hard work and thought really showed, she’s so lucky to have you as her omma. i hope that she’ll get to read your letter to her one day..it will no doubt make her really teary but happy. i cant believe that she’s 1 already. why is time flying by so fast?!

  • I had a huge smile throughout reading this blog. It’s so wonderful :)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *