Month: January 2012

  • Video: Mow?

    Here’s Kayden asking me for some “more” snacks while signing and then he gets distracted by the Frest Beat Band.

  • Stop Looking at Her Chengpi’s

    Zoe’s Daily Funny:
    So I am trying to teach Zoe to be modest when it comes to her body. Especially in front of boys….father included (although he isn’t really happy about this). So I’ve already showed her how she should sit if she’s wearing a skirt or a dress because “we don’t show boys those types of things”. The new thing lately though is she tries to cover up her little ant sized nipples when she’s changing. Let me give you a scenario from last weekend. Zoe and I were in my bedroom changing out of our pj’s when her dad walks in and all of a sudden Zoe’s like…

    Zoe: AHPAH CAN SEE OUR CHENGPI!

    Freeze. Chengpi or chengpiheh in Korean means to be embarrassed. It’s usually used in a verb form. Girlfriend is using it as a noun. At this time I took off my shirt and was totally naked from the waist up and then Zoe started yellling….

    Zoe: MOMMY YOUR CHENGPI IS SHOWING! QUICK LET’S GO TO THE OTHER SIDE OF THE BED! AHBAH CLOSE YOUR EYES!
    Hubs: Zoe honey it’s ok. Daddy’s ok.
    Me: ZOE RUN! AHPAH CAN SEE OUR CHENGPI!
    Zoe: STOP LOOKING AT MY CHENGPI AHBAH!!!! (we’re both making a mad dash to the other side of the bed)
    Zoe: Ahbah stop looking at my chengpi!
    Me: Yeah! Stop looking at my chengpi too. Quick Zoe put on your shirt!
    Zoe: Ahbah turn around and stop looking at my chengpi! Ahbah’s looking at my chengpi mommy!
    Hubs: Zoe’s it’s ok. It’s just daddy!
    Zoe: MOMMY AHBAH’S LOOKING AT MY CHENGPI!
    Me: Ahbah turn around

    C turns around with his back to us. However he is now facing the mirror and can still see us.

    Me: OH NO AHBAH CAN STILL SEE YOUR CHENGPI!
    Zoe: (rushing to put on her clothes) AHBAH DON’T LOOK AT MY CHENGPI! Girls are not supposed to see boys chengpi’s and boys are not supposed to see girls chengpi’s right mom?
    Me: Right.

    Poor C. I know he’s thinking she doesn’t even have boobs yet but it’s a much scarier world now. Don’t you think?


    :: 12.07.11 :: Happy Birthday To Me (iPhone)
    Celebrating it with my favorite people, my family. Damn. I old now that I think about it.
    birthday collage

    :: 12.08.11 :: Birthday Lunch Date (iPhone)

    So instead of finding a sitter we played hookie, dropped the kids off at school, and took the bus into the city for our lunch date at 11 Madison Park. Everything was good till we hit course 9. Holy crap they had a cheese on that plate that looked like it was impersonating blue cheese. I had it and my face kind of got distorted. The hubs had it and he felt the same. The best way that I could describe the taste was the weekend before we had Jonah’s birthday party at Turtleback Zoo. There is a stable area with barn animals and you can smell that barnyard smell once you get close. If you could put that in a solid form of some sort…THAT’S what that cheese tasted like! The husband agreed.
    flatiron 11madisonparkmenu
    11madisonparksign butter
    course1 course2
    course3 course4
    course5 course6
    course7 course8
    course9 course10
    course11 birthday11mp
    11madisonparkelmo 11madisonparknutcrackers

  • Ice Cream & The New Fridge

    Zoe’s Daily Funny:
    Last night I was helping Zoe put her pj’s on and her giant noggin got stuck while putting her shirt on. I helped her push her head through and right after she hugged me and said…

    Zoe: Aww mommy. You’re the best mommy I ever did have.
    Me: I know. I’m your only mommy.
    Zoe: Thank you for helping me. I knew you could do it. I knew you could do it mom!


    We have been without a fridge for 24 days and then our new fridge arrived this past tuesday! Woohoo! Crazy huh? Our 3yr old fridge broke down Christmas Eve and we have been living out of an ice box since. I called. I bitched. I emailed. I bitched. The repair guys have been here 5 times. I sent a final bitchy email. I won our money back. Hot Dog! Victory is ours! I remember the first email I sent to customer service I bcc’d my husband and I basically wrote that this is the 2nd time the fridge has broken down in 3 years for the same exact problem. If it happens again what are YOU going to do about it?! My husband im’s me and writes “You’re such a bitch. I love you.” After the guys came the 5th time and still couldn’t fix it I told the hubs and he told me to send another bitchy email. I wrote. I bcc’d him again. He im’s me “That the girl I married. I love you so much.” hahaha…. Just as long as the target isn’t you right? Thank God we have a working fridge. Tonight I am making Ina Garten’s perfect roast chicken. Have you tried it? The chicken comes out perfectly and it’s sooo good. I have to say, Zoe was super excited to finally be able to have ice cream again in the house. Kayden too come to think of it. Last night the hubs was walking around the kitchen with a small tub of ice cream and Kayden was just following him around and all I could hear was “Mow? Mow? Mow? Mow? Mow?” That’s how the boy says “more”.

    :: Iphone Photos from Novemer-December 2011 ::
    happyfeet2-1 happyfeet2-2
    kaydencarseatsleeper bedhogs
    kaydenlockedout kaydengivingup  
    lilasnailsdid zoemanicure
    bestiesatjonah'sparty kaydenhanginincloset

  • Playing Together

    Zoe’s Daily Funny:
    Zoe’s dad came home a little bit intoxicated one night cause he was “forced” to go drinking with co-workers. She and I were in her bed and we were just finishing up our nightly game of Monster Pet Shop. He comes in the room reaking of alcohol but totally coherent and says…

    Hubs: Zoe, come give daddy a good night kiss.

    She gets up and stand on the edge of her bed and he picks her up to hug her.

    Hubs: Zoe?
    Zoe: Huh?
    Hubs: When you go grow up don’t go into I.T. I don’t want you making your money in I.T. Look at daddy. I’m miserable.
    Zoe: Awww. Dad I will give you  money in my piggy bank. I will give it to you.
    Hubs: Oh yeah? (Zoe nods) How much?
    Zoe: I will give you five dollars.
    Me: Why are you giving daddy five dollars Zoe?
    Zoe: So he can buy me something.


    Gosh. I am really loving Kayden’s age right now. He’s so funny. I think we have another funny kid in the making! I shall mold him into being the great mama’s boy he shall become. Muhahaha! He and Zoe have been playing a lot together lately. Mostly just screaming and laughing at each other. I just watch them and laugh sometimes. Last night I was holding Kayden and we were running around the kitchen island taking turns with Zoe playing tag. There was a LOT of screaming involved. Finally after Kayden started coughing I said we should take a water break.

    Zoe: Hey! How come Kayden gets to drink first? I’m older.
    Me: I know but he was coughing a lot ok?
    Zoe: Ok. *GASP* Oh no! (she spreads her feet apart a bit) I peed a little.
    Me: What? A lot or a little?
    Zoe: (Totally frozen on the spot) Okay, I think a lot. I’m sorry mom.
    Me: Hahaha it’s ok. We were all excited so it’s ok. Go to the bathroom and pee the rest in the potty.

    So she does this still walk to the bathroom while tiptoeing all awkward like cause her pants were wet. She strips off her bottom and gets on the toilet…

    Zoe: Mom, I’m really sorry about that. Are you mad at me?
    Me: No. It’s ok Zoe. It was just an accident. We were all running around and we were all excited. It’s ok.
    Zoe: I’m really sorry.
    Me: Zoe it’s ok.

    She’s so cute.

    :: 01.07.11 :: Kayden & Rapunzel
    rapunzel and kayden rapunzel and kayden love

    :: 01.12.11 :: Hangin’ Out                                                                   :: 01.07.11 :: Grocery Shopping 
    morning hanging out groceryshoppingcar

  • Keira’s Dohl

    Zoe’s Daily Funny:
    Some time back in december the husband called to tell me that he was coming home late. Zoe and I were in the foyer and I gave Zoe some shoes to line up against the wall…

    Me: Zoe, here. Go put daddy’s shoes over there with the rest of his shoes.

    She walks over to me to grab a pair and heads over to where all daddy’s shoes are lined up.

    Zoe: *exasperated sigh* Ugh! Why do the boys always mess up the shoes and all the girls have to clean it up all the time?
    Me: I know right?!
    Zoe: (still lining up the shoes) I’m just tired of this! *another exasperated sigh*

    Girlfriend! This is just the beginning. You don’t know.
    ::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

    :: 01.08.11 :: Keira’s Dohl
    I don’t really have any photos from Keira’s dohl. I just know that it was beautiful. I don’t bother bringing my camera when I know I have both kids. I never use it.
    Angie everything was amazing!

    Susan and I had made this backdrop out of streamers for Keira’s party. I brought my darth vader mask (a widdle present to me) and was dying to take a photo with it on. The last photo is tainted yellow because SOMEONE had to put the polaroid in his mouth, KAYDEN!

    Conversation with Angie a few days before the party…

    Me: I can’t wait to set up the photobooth. Can I bring my darth vader mask to the party?!
    Angie: Um no.
    Me: ……….okimbringingit
    angieandkeiradohl

    keirasdohlfamilyshots