October 13, 2009

  • Update On Me & My Monkey

    Zoe’s words from yesterday: ears, nose, mous (mouth), heah (head), eyes, feet, butt, Tigger, bear
    Zoe’s words from today: Daisy, Goofy, Mickey (no more Gokey), push, dog
    I swear she’s like a sponge.

    Zoe now knows about 100 words and 15 phrases. This morning she dropped her Hello Kitty sticker on the floor and says “Kitty aya (Kitty’s hurt)! Oh my gosh!”

    Sorry I’ve been MIA. I’ve been working on Zoe’s Halloween costume for the past 3 days. This is definitely a labor of love. I don’t think I’m gonna do this again next year. Haha…this year I just wanted to try it. Who knows. I say this now but you never know what I’ll be in the mood for come around next year around this time. I might be an overachiever again. When ever I get in this mood to do something crafty I call them suicide missions cause that’s what it feels like to me. I think it all started with planning my wedding. I think that’s when my craziness kicked in and the hubs realized it was too late to back out now cause he was scared of me. Yup. That’s what I think about that.

    Today Zoe had her 18 month appt. We made it as far as the hallway and she knew and didn’t want to go in. I have a feeling next time she’ll know when we hit the elevator. She started flipping out when she saw the doctor. *le sigh sigh sigh* She was holding onto to Mr Pink with one hand and with the other she was holding onto a Mickey Mouse book that she brought in from the waiting room.  I had to take her shirt off and she knew I had to so she was fighting to hold on to the book so I couldn’t pull her sleeve off. Once I got one sleeve off I was working on the other one and she was fighting to put her arm back in it. Oh *LE SIGH*.  The doctor and I were yelling at each other so we could hear each other talk since she was screaming and crying so loud. Get this, he didn’t even touch her yet! She was on my lap still. She grew about an inch and a half (65th percentile), her head is still in the 75th percentile, and her weight is still in the 5th percentile. He thinks it’s just genes when it comes to the weight so he told me to stop worrying about it. Then he found out that I was still giving her a bottle at night and in the morning so he scolded me. FINE FINE! We’ll try. Are you guys giving your kids a bottle still? She only got a flu shot but I have to call back and find out when they have the swine flu shot in. Are you guys gonna give that to your kids?

    :: 10.13.09 ::Dr Appointment
     
    IMG_5123
    IMG_5124

    :: My Recent Suicide Missions ::
    (For those of you who asked what Zoe was going as this year, why did you even ask? I know you know)
    I’m more than half way done. I still have to hem the bottom, sew a tail, make a headband with the ears, and a bow, and dye one of her onesies.
    IMG_5127

    I had to make 2 of these for a shared shower at church this past sunday. One for a girl and one for a boy. I’ve never made a diaper cake before so getting started on this was a pain but they turned out super cute!
    IMG_4989

    Ok back to finishing the costume! The shit that you do for your kids I tell you.

Comments (25)

  • umm..I still don’t know what Zoe is going to be X_x…but looking forward to seeing the finished product!

  • what’s wrong with giving her a bottle at night and in the morning?  my son gets his soymilk bottle (8oz) right before bed, and at 5:30am.  i love my pediatrician, but i’m not going to just stop giving him the bottle when they think i should.  i will stop when MY kid is ready.  without the bottle, he would eat at 7:30pm and then go to bed at 9pm without anything – and its not like he stuffs himself full every night at dinner. 

  • I love the costume. Maybe justin shouldve been dear daniel????

  • omgosh zoe’s going to flip when she sees the finished product.  i totally know what you mean about the suicide missions.  you just churn it in your system and think about it day and night…but it’s invigorating and so rewarding even if the end product is to be worn for just a few hours.  with that said, know anyone who wants to be a giant samoa girl scout cookie for halloween?  i’m sad to throw it out (or just to poach the chocolatey back for brown felt), but it’s gotta go.

  • I have cute blue bag with an apple on it to match perfectly with her costume. Let me know and I’ll mail it to you this week. Perfect for Trick or treating, unless you want the mother load of hauls, then this little bag will not suffice! Donovan got it this past weekend as a treat bag from his friends bday party.

  • the costume is looking awesome! cant wait to see zoe in it :) and still 2 weeks til halloween!

  • hahahaha – you are so friggin talented you make me sick! but im with you on the suicide mission. i have one this weekend for a bridal shower. but still, i bow down to you. your shiet is awesome!

  • can’t wait to see zoe in the halloween costume!  i have no such talents so no halloween costume for my baby this year.  she’s too young to go to any halloween parties anyway.

  • she’s gonna be hello kitty?!? eekkk!!!

  • Awww Zoe… when do they start recognizing the dr’s office?  Jonah had no clue at his late 9 month visit…

  • you are so going to do it again next halloween. she will be so cute!! M go the flumist but then i found out from some moms that i shouldn’t have had her get it but the shot instead. we didn’t get anything last yr for her and she was fine…. i’m not sure about the swine flu vac though. poor zoe…she’s so cute in the video though.

  • hahahaha … she’s so funny!

  • omg, she looks sooo scared at the beginning of the video! i have to say it’s cute though. marian is the same way at the dr’s… AND we switched dr’s and she still knew at the first visit w/ the new one. the dr did not even wear a white coat and is totally this friendly young-looking woman… but she KNEW. they are so smart.

  • zoe does not look like a happy camper

  • @injeannieous - i’m not sure but i think zoe’s been doing since about a yr old.

  • geez Mrs.CraftyMcCraftee!!!  the costume looks really good!!  can’t wait to see the final product! hehee!  okay, that dog is SOOOOOOOO freaking adorable!!  It looks like a little Ewok….SOOOo cute!!!

  • @so_droll80 - i know! i want to name him chewbaca

  • I thought taking my kids to Toys R Us to get Elisa’s costume was a suicide mission.  Zoe’s one lucky girl.

    Elisa used to be like that at the dr’s office.  She started crying as soon as the dr peeped her head in.  Ellen, who’s been pricked and prodded since birth, doesn’t seem to mind.  Not sure if she’s just clueless or super brave. 
    I stopped giving Ellen milk at bedtime once she fully transitioned to the sippy cup.  But I know not all kids transition as easily.  Personally, as long as you brush her teeth after her last bottle, she should be ok.  Pediatricians have a list of stuff they’re supposed to tell you.  I’m sure they don’t always follow everything themselves with their own kids.     

  • god she’s so cute in what she said to hello kitty!  hahahaha.

    also make sure you and choong and choong’s mom take your flu shot too. it’s important that those that interact with people with weak immune systems (children, elderly, sick ppl, etc.) get the flu shot.

  • aww, she looks so scared in the doctor video. 

    i think for her halloween costume, you should get an inflatable globe, put arm and leg holes in it, and stick a flashlight in there.  she can be global warming.  hahahha, high five me sista!

  • What a cute costume! Oh and I love the diaper cake topper. Did you make that too?!? You need to start your own mag.

  • she’s going to be such a cute hello kitty!  i die!  can’t wait to see pictures.

  • the nurse at my postpartum center suggested bringing in our little ones to the dr. even after they’ve gotten over an illness for a followup checkup so that every visit to the dr doesn’t equal getting a shot. developing more positive associations with dr’s visits. would that help?

  • M still gets 4 bottles a day and she is almost 15 months!  I keep on saying that we need to cut out  one of the afternoon bottles and get her to drink her remaining afternoon bottle from a cup, but its so much easier to let her have a bottle before her nap.  Whatever, every kid is different and she’ll transition when she is ready is how I feel…

  • @virtualberta - oh no i don’t care. hahaha she’s just gonna have to suck it up. all kids go through this from what i’m told.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *