June 21, 2011

  • The Target Story I Heard

    Zoe’s Daily Funny:
    On Sunday Kayden woke up from one of his naps and Zoe and I were downstairs. I was like “Zoe, let’s go get Kayden. He’s awake.” So we both went up together to get him. She runs into the room ahead of me to reach him first on his swing and to calm him down she says…

    Zoe: Kayden, Kayden, Kayden calm down. There’s nothing to be shy about. Noona and mommy are both here.


     
    Did I ever tell you guys the Target story? There’s a coworker at my work that told me this story and it really freaks me out as a parent.
    She had a friend in Chicago that went shopping at her local Target with her 2yr old daughter. She must have turned her back on her kid and when she turned around she was gone. She called for her, no answer. Right away she told security and they did a lock down on all the exits. They went around the entire store looking for her. They still couldn’t find her. Finally they opened one of the exits and they were letting people out one at time to be sure. This one guy in line had a little girl that he was holding and she had blonde hair. When they looked closer it was the little girl. He had changed all her clothes and put on a blonde wig. The kid’s Korean. I was SHITTIN’ (pardon my french) in my pants when I heard this. My friend Julia was also with me and we both had our mouths hanging open. I was like “What was he going to do with her?!” Her response was “sell her in the black market” but I’m thinking what if he was some freak pedophile or something?! I said “That would never happen to Zoe. If someone tried to take her she’d cry out for me since she’s so attached.” And she made a point. They’re professionals. They will do whatever they have to to shut your kid up. This whole story just gave me the heebie-jeebies. This is like something you don’t want to hear but it’s reality. It’s reality in the most ugliest form.

    {06.05.11}
    IMG_2251-1

    Oh and HAPPY 1ST DAY OF SUMMER!

Comments (18)

  • that story is seriously scary. good work by security, thank god.

  • that’s the scariest story…I should always make the girls be RIGHT beside me when shopping…I hope that they arrested that freak of nature guy right then and there.

  • o.m.g. i got chills reading that story! there’s some really really bad people in this world and it makes it seem so close to home when you have kids. ugh… i def need to think about getting the baby ‘leash’ once H starts to walk. for realz. lol.

  • its like 1030 am and i have the chills and i can’t shake them off! I cannot believe such people exist! Did the guy get arrested- what happened? I am not always holding Chloe’s hand if I’m at the grocery store and she’s not always sititng in the shopping cart. I don’t let her run around or run free, but this seriously puts me in check!!!

  • i am sitting at work all upset after reading this story. this is every parents nightmare and so scary. thank goodness they found the little girl. :(

  • uhhhh. I’m a little freaked out and I don’t even have kids. I just got the shivers! 

  • OMG what kind of weirdo was that man?!  I bet he had a rap sheet that could wrap around the earth a few times…  *shivers!*

  • whatever happened to the creepy asshole?  

  • It IS upsetting and it could happen…when my son turned 3, he thought it would be fun to play hide & seek in a department store in the mall.  He forgot to tell me.  I freaked!!!!!!!!!  A salesman told me he saw “the little guy” hide behind the cosmetics counter.  I hugged him then and gave him the silent treatment all the way home.  You’re not a bad mom, they’re at that age where they get distracted very easily and tend to wander off.  Now, I have a 1.5 yo and I know she will be just as distracted so I’ll strap her in her stroller/ shopping cart if I’m on a mission but I’ll tag my hubs if we’re cruising w/o one.  Two sets of eyes are better than one!    

  • i’ve heard a similar story but it took place at a costco and someone was caught in the bathroom shaving the kid’s hair off before putting on the wig.  whether or not it’s one of those urban legends or email fwds, the idea of it happening still causes me to be extra cautious when shopping and out in public.

  • I was in Nordstrom one time when they announced that a little boy was missing.  All the sales associates were standing by the doors and I felt like there was this eery silence throughout the store.  I remember tearing up when I heard the announcement that the little boy was found.  There’s nothing wrong with those kid leashes!

  • @aegie - he got arrested right there.

  • that story is horrifying. there are so many sick twisted people in the world. 

  • that’s why we’re helicopter moms!!! when we’re at the park, i’m totally on my kids…one eyeball on each one. other parents aren’t even paying attention and chitchatting. besides them getting hurt, they could totally just wander off. i’m glad security locked down quick enough.

  • true story that is related to both the pooping story and the Target one: I was shopping at Carrefour (the French hypermart, just like K-mart/Target/Walmart) when I came upon a little boy of maybe 3 or 4 who was crying for his mom and had his pants down at his ankles. I asked him if he wanted to pull his pants up and he said no and I figured he’s not my kid and it’s not like he’s a grown man so what’s the big deal if he’s flashing everyone? I let him keep his pants down. I told him I’d help him find his mommy and we set off to find the info counter. When I went to ask a store employee where the desk was, she took a look at the little boy and insisted he pull up his pants and asked why he wouldn’t pull it up. He then explained he couldn’t because he had taken a poop and needed his mom to wipe his butt. The lady then fished in her pocket, pulled out a tissue, and wiped his butt! The three of us then set off for the info counter, and the boy’s mom eventually found him. I was shocked at how nonchalant she was about the whole situation: “oh he knows the way to the bathroom” but I get lost in that particular store all the time!

  • @virtualberta - i’m not surprised the lady wiped his butt. i think it’s a the maternal side that just kicks in. but jsut how the mom was just like whatever about the whole situation was kind of weird.

  • omg they’re so lucky they found her. i heard pedophiles do this at disneyland/world all the time. sometimes they’ll shave all the hair off and dress a girl up as a boy etc. it’s so scary. i’m keeping my kids tethered to me via a leash and we are not going to disneyland/world even though my grandparents live right next door!  haha.

  • @susanechoe - WHAT?! they live next to World or Land? You HAVE TO GO! just bjorn them them when you’re there. I don’t care if they’re 4. they can fit in it if you squeeze them in! hahaha

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *